The European Alliance on Agricultural knowledge for Development

Structure and governance

General Structure

AGRINATURA is the European Alliance on Agricultural Knowledge for Development, a new entity established jointly by European research and education organisations.

It is based on two pillars –  the Association (AGRINATURA Association) regrouping all members  and the EEIG (AGRINATURA-EEIG), which is its operational arm.  Activities are managed by the Joint Management Unit, with one office in Prague (Information & Communication, Association secretariat) and one office in Paris (Directorate, Business management, Administration, EEIG secretariat).

Governance Structure

AGRINATURA Association

General Assembly

The General Assembly is the sovereign power of the Association. The General Assembly is made up of all the Association members who have paid their subscription fees. The General Assembly meeting shall be held once a year, at a time and place determined by the General Assembly.

President and Vice President

The General Assembly elects among its members a President and a Vice-President for a non renewable term of four years. The President of the General Assembly proposes the other members of the Board of Directors, whose nomination is approved by the General Assembly.


Carolyn Glynn Swedish University of Agricultural Sciences Uppsala





Carolyn Glynn


Swedish University of Agricultural Sciences, Uppsala, Sweden



Tim Chancellor NRI University of Greenwich





Tim Chancellor


NRI, University of Greenwich, UK

The Vice-President acts in the President’s name in case of her absence.


Board of Directors

The Agrinatura Association is administered by a Board of Directors consisting of the President and the Vice-President  and Board members.



Board od Directors´members are:


Andreas de Neergaard LIFE University of Copenhagen

Andreas de Neergaard

(LIFE, University of Copenhagen, Denmark)





Carolin Callenius

(University of Hohenheim, Germany)




Torsten Rodel Berg Aarhus University

Torsten Rødel Berg

(Aarhus University, Denmark)




Petra Chaloupková Czech University of Life Sciences Prague

Petra Chaloupková

(Czech University of Life Sciences Prague, czech Republic)



DidierPillotDidier Pillot

(Montpellier SupAgro, France)




Stephen, OnakuseStephen Onakuse

(Cork University, Ireland)





Luis Manuel Bignolas Mira da Silva

(University of Lisbon, Portugal)


Secretary General

The Board of Directors appoints a Secretary General. He (she) is responsible for the development and the execution of the projects of the AGRINATURA network. The Secretariat shall regularly report the execution of its delegations to the Board of Directors.


Anna Kroutilová

Secretary General of Agrinatura



Agrinatura-EEIG is

  • incorporated as a European Economic Interest Grouping governed by the European Regulation 2137/85 and the provisions of French law 89.377 of 13 June 1989 modifying the bylaws 67.821 of 23 September 1967;
  • the Articles of Association, are the agreement entered into by the Members, setting the terms for its incorporation;
  • The Bylaws of the Grouping, specify and supplementing the undertakings which they have set forth in the Articles of Association, as well as the terms of their relations with the Grouping and the Grouping’s relationship with third parties.

Its governance is organized as follows:

The Members Assembly is the main decision making body of the EEIG;

The President chairs the Members’ Assembly and is the EEIG’s representative and spokesperson; AGRINATURA Association and AGRINATURA-EEIG have joint President, who is currently Carolyn Glynn.

The Business Manager and  Director (BMD)is the natural person acting as manager and administrator, responsible for the implementation of the annual Work plan. He/she is in charge of programming and promoting of scientific activities, representation, information and exchange activities. The Director is the main contact point for external parties. The Business Manager Director identifies new business opportunities, manages, administers and delivers EEIG projects, delivers the annual business plan.


               Hanneke Lam




Hanneke Lam is the Business Manager and Director of the EEIG.


The Management Advisory Committee is the body comprising one representative of each Member. This Committee advises the Director and mobilizes the Members.